Music club

Ladies Music Club of OKC Announces Scholarship Winners

The Ladies Music Club of Oklahoma City recently announced the winners of its annual music competitions at Oklahoma City University.

The event offered music scholarships to 45 students from numerous Oklahoma high schools and universities, with $27,000 awarded to the winning students.

High school students who won first place included: Jenny Nguyen, Mustang High School, flute prize; Hyacinth Johnson, homeschooling, Zachritz Harp Prize; Emma Bootby, Tuttle High School, Nichols/Pirrong Percussion Award; Lily Coyer, homeschooling, Ad Astra Strings Award; and Kayla Cao, Jenks High School, Pianists Division Award.

The College runner-up winners pictured are Viviana Goodwin, Ethan Warren, Cheldon Gatz, Christian Celis and Lingxiao Fan.  (Not pictured, Katie Crim and Christophe Delgado.)

College-aged students who took second place included: Vivian Goodwin, OCU, Haire Voice Award; Ethan Warren, Oklahoma State University, Henderson Brass Award; Cheldon Gatz, OSU, Nichols/Pirrong Percussion Award; Christia Celis, University of Central Oklahoma, WW/Reed Prize; Lingxiao Fan, OSU, Boettger/Webber Piano Prize; Katie Crim, OCU, flute prize; and Christopher Delgado, OCU, Ad Astra Strings award.

The College's first-place winners, pictured left to right in the front row, are Jennifer Zhang, Jace Harris, Madeline Hager and Ezekiel Malone;  back row, Audrey Jergensen, Macey Trussell, Naomi Wharry and Chris Maxwell.

College students who won first place included: Jennifer Zhang, OSU, LMC Piano Prize; Jace Harris, University of Oklahoma, Nichols/Pirrong Percussion Prize; Madeleine Hager, OCU, flute prize; Ezekiel Malone, Armstrong College, Ad Astra Strings Award; Audrey Jergensen, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Zachritz Harp Award; Macey Trussel, OCU, Haire Voice Award; Naomi Wary, UCO, Henderson Brass Award; and Chris Maxwell, OCU, WW/Reed Prize.

spring lunch

The Ladies Music Club of Oklahoma City will host its annual Spring Luncheon on May 18 at the atrium of the Wanda Bass School of Music, 2501 N Blackwelder.

A catered lunch will begin at 11:30 a.m. with harpist Chelsea Bushong providing the lunch music.

At 12:30 p.m., international operatic soprano Leona Mitchell will be honored as the club’s “Musician of the Year.” Mitchell will be hailed by the club and Oklahoma City Mayor David Holt.

At 1 p.m., operatic tenor J. Warren Mitchell will be the guest artist and accompanied by Jan McDaniel on piano.

Lunch tickets are $25 per person and must be purchased by May 11. To reserve, call 405-808 4221.

To be considered for this column, please email achievement announcements and photos to [email protected].